Workflow: Engage A New Donor to a Particular Fund

Inspire giving and generosity for your new donors by thanking them for their first gift to a certain fund or funds! This can help donors understand how their donations support the particular ministry they are donating to. It also increases the level of personalization options for more communication or a unique thank-you message. Creating this engaging Workflow is simple, and the steps are laid out below. Modify this to fit your church setup as needed.

 

Find the left navigation menu and select Workflows.

Give the newly added Workflow a name that makes it easy to recognize. Also, add a description so the purpose of the Workflow is clear. This helps bring clarity when reviewing later and focus on the workflow's goal while building it.

workflow name and description setup

Now, add triggers to start building the actions of your Workflow. Since we are working with donations, we want to use the 'Giving -- Amount' trigger.

Select the trigger, then the Group(s) the workflow should look for. In the example, we will look for anyone who is in the Guest group. Then we want to look for anyone who has given over $.01.

Note: The workflow will fill in the trigger parameters' details. You can see here the details along the top are "A member of -Status - Member gives $.01 to any fund in Disaster Relief."

Next, add actions to take when the trigger is activated. There may be a care person or the pastor who wants to send a personal message to the new donor. Use an Interaction to assign this to the correct person with details of what needs to be followed up.

For an immediate response to the donor, send an email to them expressing appreciation for the gift! 

 


Now that the first trigger has been created for a specific fund, the process can be repeated for another fund. This gives a great deal of flexibility and customization for engagement options! Keep repeating for more funds, depending on your needs.

The last important item to add for this simple workflow is the Update Progress action. This action ensures that after the other actions have completed, the database will not run this workflow for this person again. It declares, "I have already run this and don't need to again." Make sure to add this to BOTH triggers.

All our triggers, actions, and customizations have been added, so we need to save the work. Use the DONE button to save your Workflow!

Your new Workflow is now set up and ready to run. Click the SAVE button to add the Workflow to the list.

Updated

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

If you have an issue that requires help or feedback, please Contact Support.